5.1 Surround Sound

Well, I’ve got it. I have just installed a 5.1 surround sound system in my lounge room. It would have sounded great, it even has wireless rear speakers and cool blue lights when the power is on.

I was in for a little supprise. None of my expensive (but old – more than 5 years ago is old) devices was 5.1 compliant. I was missing out. This was getting to me so I went to my local discout store and purchased a cheap DVD player for $49AU which was 5.1 compliant so I could get my moneys worth from my purchase.

I get home and set up the new DVD player and wack in a DVd waiting for dynamic sounds bursting from all the speakers immersing me in righ surround sound.

Alas … The DVD is not a 5.1 DVD it is just a 2.1 DVD.

I then started looking through all my DVD’s for a 5.1 compliant version and I came across Star Trek first Contact. Yes it has 5.1 on the cover. I put it in and my world changed. Yes, it works and it sounds great. It is worth doing but when you do, make sure your other untis such as video player, digital tv etc are 5.1 also.

If you are wondering what 5.1 is all about well it is about the number of speakers you unit can support. You can tell this by the jacks (plugs) in the back of the unts you are connecting.

5.1 means 5 speakers and 1 subwoofer. 2.1 means 2 speakers and 1 subwoofer. Stereo is what a lot of us have now which is fine but if you want a real surround sound experience, look for the 5.1 logo on the equipment and DVD’s that you buy.

One thought on “5.1 Surround Sound

Leave a Reply

